themcglynn.com

This Day In History

what

Previous Day July 30 Calendar Next Day

This Week in History, Jul 30 – Aug 5

Jul 30, 1965

Johnson signs Medicare into law

Jul 31, 1975

Jimmy Hoffa disappears

Aug 01, 1961

Texans head for the thrills at Six Flags

Aug 02, 1990

Iraq invades Kuwait

Aug 03, 1958

Nautilus travels under North Pole

Aug 04, 1944

Anne Frank captured

Aug 05, 2002

Divers recover U.S.S. Monitor turret

day
*

July 30 : General Interest 1965: Johnson signs Medicare into law On this day in 1965, President Lyndon B. Johnson signs Medicare, a health insurance program for elderly Americans, into law. At the bill-signing ceremony, which took place at the Truman Library in Independence, Missouri… read more

Related Topics

American Revolution 1780 : Isaac Shelby takes Fort Thicketty, South Carolina http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/isaac-shelby-takes-fort-thicketty-south-carolina

Automotive 2003 : Last classic VW Beetle rolls off the line http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/last-classic-vw-beetle-rolls-off-the-line

Civil War 1864 : Union forces stopped at the Battle of the Crater http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/battle-of-the-crater

Cold War 1975 : Summit meeting in Helsinki begins http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/summit-meeting-in-helsinki-begins

Crime 1994 : Man charged in murder of Megan Kanka http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/man-charged-in-murder-of-megan-kanka

Disaster 1971 : Fighter jet collides with passenger plane http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/fighter-jet-collides-with-passenger-plane

General Interest 1619 : First legislative assembly in America http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-legislative-assembly-in-america

1898 : Henry Moore born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/henry-moore-born 1945 : USS Indianapolis bombed http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/uss-indianapolis-bombed

1966 : England wins World Cup http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/england-wins-world-cup 1974 :

Watergate affair approaches climax http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/watergate-affair-approaches-climax

Hollywood 1999 : Blair Witch Project released http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/blair-witch-project-released

Literary 1818 : Emily Bronte’s birthday http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/emily-brontes-birthday

Music 1966 : The Troggs take their signature hit, “Wild Thing,” to #1 http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-troggs-take-their-signature-hit-quotwild-thingquot-to-1

Old West 1863 : Chief Pocatello signs peace treaty http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/chief-pocatello-signs-peace-treaty

Presidential 1956 : President Eisenhower signs “In God We Trust” into law http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-eisenhower-signs-in-god-we-trust-into-law

Sports 1976 : Bruce Jenner wins decathlon http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/bruce-jenner-wins-decathlon

Vietnam War 1964 : South Vietnamese boats raid islands in the Tonkin Gulf http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/south-vietnamese-boats-raid-islands-in-the-tonkin-gulf

1969 : Nixon visits South Vietnam http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/nixon-visits-south-vietnam

World War I 1915 : Battle of Hooge http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/battle-of-hooge World War II 1943 :

Hitler gets news of Italy’s imminent defection http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hitler-gets-news-of-italys-imminent-defection

Share

Leave a Reply

*

© 2014 themcglynn.com | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)

Global Positioning System Gazettewordpress logo